I Was Here

Bate-Epey Ebai Tarkang
A Cornered Gurl
Published in
2 min readMar 27, 2020
Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

I was here then I wasn't, glad I am everything that you weren't. How else would it be obvious I was a part set apart? I dared to not conform, my nature was without proper form, existing free as the wind, molding like clay in the hands of life the potter. I stayed true to my convictions, it was the certainty and solidity of the earth itself, within me my passion burning ever bright, the fire seen in my eyes.

I was imperfect but my existence had its effect, I kept it real, and in my quest for truth I held back nothing, the good, the bad, the ugly, plain for the world to see. So can you ever say as a human I wasn’t perfect? I had no illusions about my defects, doing all I could to make my flaws the essence of my precepts.

I lived and then I was alive, my nuggets of truth breathing new life into my constant search for the light. My fight was always against the darkness within, depression holding me constantly in its clutches, but I stood my ground choosing not to be a possession. What you shall remember of me is resolute gumption, bent, spent, but never broken, to your peril expect my end.

I was noise until I became a voice, loud as a boombox, I was truly audible when I found inner peace, and in the melody of inner beauty, I stopped being a distraction, the mic check, I became the major key, a deep conversation. My existence stopped being fate's chatter, I became the topic of faith's banter. When I found confidence, I stopped being the background sound, life became a symphony, a balance between past, present, and future — in perfect harmony.

I was self-loathed until I was self-love, picking worth amongst the crevices of hardened fears. The paste of regret I beat into forgiveness, it was the sweet salve for my healing. I found the path forward, it took blood, sweat, and tears, but I stand now above the clouds — at the peak of my Everest.

I was until I was no more, coal till I found I was gold . . . I was there, and now I am here.

--

--