If I Had A Girl

Tanka, 4 Parts

Tre L. Loadholt
A Cornered Gurl
1 min readApr 9, 2017

--

Courtesy of Pinderful

If I had a girl
I would make it my aim to
Shower her with love--
Teach her how to maneuver
Through society's mazes

She would complement
The golden sun when she wakes,
Give it some more shine
While she memorizes Hughes
Filling her brain with pure art

Five uncles would jump
At the opportunity
To defend her life--
We'd watch her blossom into
Our own Maya Angelou

If I had a girl
I'd bask in beauty unknown
Chasing falling skies,
Catching every bit of smiles
She throws in my direction

Written for Ernio Hernandez and the call for Poems4 Positivity.

--

--

Tre L. Loadholt
A Cornered Gurl

I am more than breath & bones. I am nectar in waiting. “You write like a jagged, beautiful dream.” ©Martha Manning •https://acorneredgurl.com