Family

If You Don’t Have a Gift Bag Full of Used Gift Bags, Are You Even a Mom?

The truth in a mom-meme

Amanda Laughtland
A Cornered Gurl
Published in
4 min readMay 12, 2023

--

Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

My mom (who reads the stories I publish) mentioned to me that I often write about my grandmas but that I never write about her getting older, though she has been a grandma for ten years now.

Maybe it’s discretion — you’re not really supposed to refer to someone’s age (or so my grandma taught me). More likely it’s my nostalgia-focused mind playing tricks on me. My mom is a retired preschool teacher, after all, so she has a perpetual youthfulness. She’s always been the kind of person who could pull together a craft project out of thin air, or suddenly start dancing in the middle of the grocery store.

Stoppppp! My brother and I used to whisper in the produce aisle when the Muzak would start playing the Mamas and the Papas and our mom would say, Oh, I’m gonna have to dance now

I also remember a story she told me years later about how her bowling team was in a slump, and she told them she’d start singing if they didn’t perk up. Someone asked what she’d sing, and off the top of her head, she started into a variation on Frank Sinatra:

Once there was a little old ant,
thought he could move a rubber tree plant.
Everyone knows an ant can’t
move a rubber…

--

--

Amanda Laughtland
A Cornered Gurl

Poet, teacher, & zinester. I started The DIY Diaries because I love to read about DIY ideas and projects; I invite you to send us your stories!