Insomnia

Sam Kimberle
A Cornered Gurl
Published in
1 min readMay 10, 2019
Photo by Megan te Boekhorst on Unsplash

Primp and prep and spray
Lavender to melt the day away
Pins and needles poke me as I lay in bed
Awake.

Tortured by my thoughts
My worries consume me
My anticipation energizes me
The moment my head hits the pillow
I’m Awake.

Snoring echoes all around me
Amplified by the silence
Suffocated with exaggeration
And taunts me.

I am truly astonished by your ease in bed
When awake, you are a ball of nerves.
You are asleep mid-sentence
Fully tranquilized by contact with a pillow.

No drug or music
No distraction or sedation
Will rouse me from this Hell.
I’m Awake.

--

--

Sam Kimberle
A Cornered Gurl

Perpetual student, searching for my ikigai. I am an Artist in artistic recovery care of Julia Cameron. Top writer in poetry. ❤️POM-Poet!❤️