It All Started With A Six-Word Story

Let’s Be Creative Together #4

Tre L. Loadholt
A Cornered Gurl
2 min readApr 19, 2020

--

Paradise|Photo Credit: Tremaine L. Loadholt

I am thinking of ways for us to get our minds off the terrible times in which we currently live and to keep something positive brewing here and there. We all need to be uplifted. We all need snippets of beauty shared with us. We all need help, love, care, and kindness during these trying times. One thing I have implemented via the A Cornered Gurl account on Twitter is sharing a photo and asking for a six-word story as a response to what the writer sees. There have been some beautiful and vividly descriptive comments for several of the photos I have posted and I knew I would bring this challenge/community prompt here to A Cornered Gurl eventually.

That time is now.

I know many of you are aware of where the six-word story originated. Ernest Hemingway introduced us to a powerful story based on baby shoes using only six words:

“For sale: baby shoes, never worn.”

He gave so much using so few words and the six-word story still lives — it continues to thrive. I am taken with it much as I am with the haiku, lune, cinquain, nonet, and quadrille.

Your challenge? Share with me a six-word story (in the comments below) using the photo above. What do you see? What can you tell me about the photo using just six words? How does it move you? What does it make you feel?

Here’s mine:

I think I’ve found my paradise.

To take place every Sunday morning (for the time being) as a challenge request here in ACG, but in the comments only (much like how I used to do the one-liners, but please feel free to post your six-word story wherever you’d like, wherever it needs to be), will be a photograph and the opportunity for you to share your six-word story about it.

Ready? Let’s get creative folks! GO!

--

--

Tre L. Loadholt
A Cornered Gurl

I am more than breath & bones. I am nectar in waiting. “You write like a jagged, beautiful dream.” ©Martha Manning •https://acorneredgurl.com