Just Before the Breakdown

With all things considered

BJ Dawson
A Cornered Gurl
1 min readSep 7, 2020

--

Photo by Sides Imagery from Pexels

So hey, in these uncertain times
I am okay, I’d say, all things considered,

not at all embittered,
don’t mind unkind divergent signs
maligned uncertain lines conflated, hindered

for the most part, my withered heart is glad
that fate delivered

on a respite of a kind;
a kind of blessedness of sorts
given the messiness reportedly
of these uncertain times,

and yes, I’m fine, I guess,

unless you count the stresses
pressing incessantly
upon my weary chest,

but I digress, disregard the shaking
messy million-watt smile

and stylish, blessed-be my
wildish thousand-yard stare.

In these uncertain times, do not compare
the meanwhile to rare nostalgia of clean air

where no one had to hedge
to keep from falling off the edge,

all things considered, for the most part,
I’m kind of, sort of, thankful for the ledge
in these uncertain times.

But the next time I’m pushed
will be the last fucking time.

--

--

BJ Dawson
A Cornered Gurl

Medium Top Procrastinator. Guilty of writing under the influence. No, I’m not upset. My face always looks this way. INTP https://cosmicrubble.com/