Look at Me with an Open Heart

You know you’ve succeeded once you feel it

Kerstin Krause
A Cornered Gurl

--

Wrinkly Asian woman face
Photo by greenaperture on Getty Images Signature

Reality is often painful.

Because looking with an open heart may imply touching some sore spots. Not only those of others. But very likely your own as well.

The ordinarily extraordinary people of the world

Mundane people and their stories. No matter how insignificant they may appear. They move me. They are the mirror to my soul which understands and feels.

They make me pause.

Such as when I met a woman squatting by the roadside somewhere in Nepal, painstakingly crushing solid rocks into pebbles with a battered hammer. Her contribution to the surface of a road that may one day reach her village.

Monotonous back-breaking work that puts no more than a meager meal on the table at the end of a long shift. Day in, day out.

And while I kept observing her tucked away behind my motorbike, a tender smile escaped her cracked lips when she finally lifted her tired head. I still wonder where she took the strength from. For those nasty rocks and her genuine smile.

The things we don’t often see

--

--

Kerstin Krause
A Cornered Gurl

Seasoned traveler | Passionate writer | Bold motorbike rider | Find out more: www.bike-n-soul.com or support women @https://ko-fi.com/bikensoultanzania