Musical Selection: D’Angelo and The Vanguard — Betray My Heart

Love, Lust, Blood Magic, and Other Trickery

A Collaborative Effort with Tre L. Loadholt

BJ Dawson
Published in
2 min readJul 23, 2023

--

Photo by cottonbro studio

was it the lightning and the thunder
that made me wander into you?
was it the loving, or the lust
making me mistrust each rendezvous?
I never knew where you began
and where I end, still I pretend
that I intended this extended
voodoo-blending of us two,

in past lives and more, twin-souls begat,
lifetimes before our dreaming eyes met.
and I bet again, long after we’re dust,
we must twirl and rise again, yet,
and again once more, lest we forget;
long after infinity renders me inert,
blood magic will deconstruct what hurts,
and reconstruct our reprised duet.

my dear, “You had me at hello,”
transformed things in me that slept
for decades and I wondered who you were,
but decided to take each blow.
it all came crashing down at once,
your energy pinned me between…

--

--

BJ Dawson
A Cornered Gurl

Medium Top Procrastinator. Guilty of writing under the influence. No, I’m not upset. My face always looks this way. INTP https://cosmicrubble.com/