Metamorphosis

Nasa
A Cornered Gurl
Published in
2 min readSep 14, 2020
Photo Sam Bark by on Unsplash

I find myself evolving rapidly,
I can barely keep up.
This day I am a butterfly,
the next an eagle,
yet I am confined to the same space;
A pen of solid steel.

I find that I am so different,
While I get to know who I have become.
I must accommodate the confines I am strapped in,
and learn to work on the relationships I have.
All these I must do while bleeding from bruises
this confinement inflicts on me.

Do I ever think of soaring?
Breaking free and finally letting go?
Of course, but my confines are tailored to me.
They are cemented into my thoughts,
an adornment of my mind.

How do I let go?

I learn, walk, fly, slip, cry, and snap!
A thousand times, I pray for help.
Waiting on a miracle I can perform myself.
Then light came. What appeared to be steel
was thread and what seemed impossible was
just me wearing my fears as a magnifying lens.

You would think these days
when I ram into solid steel that I will smile
and soar undeterred! But that’s not true
always. Some days I cower at the obstacle
that isn’t then I speak strength and faith to myself.
This is how I win!

©2020 Nasa

--

--

Nasa
A Cornered Gurl

My heart spills words in her finery and my fingers move in tune to the song it makes, creating a picture for you to see and be whole. I am Nasa and I write