Musings & Mutterings

Vol. 1

Tre L. Loadholt
A Cornered Gurl
3 min readApr 28, 2017

--

Courtesy of Walldevil.com

Hello, beautiful people! Welcome to A Cornered Gurl. If you have decided to take this journey with me, thank you. It is good to see you here and I am delighted to be in your presence. First things first… Why A Cornered Gurl? I have had the idea thrown at me to create my own publication for sometime now and I have often batted it because of apprehension. However, the time feels right, so I am going with the flow. Thus, here. we. are.

The name has been in use for about eleven years. It fits. It sticks. It is who I was and who I still am from time to time — a cornered girl. Backed into dark spaces until light comes for me. When I thought of a name for the pub, that one summoned my spirit and dutifully, I answered. A close second was Simple Soul Sister.

Now that we have gotten the formalities out and in the open, naked and unashamed, what will you find here?

Poetry/Prose/Fiction/Creative Nonfiction/Micropoetry/Collaborations (with permission from those who choose to collaborate with me)/& Heart Work

This space will be my very own playground and if you are feeling young and free, this space could be your escape. Letters will post once a month in “Pub News” informing you of the latest goings-on with the publication and what you can expect in the near future. In these letters, I will highlight Writers who are giving their all to Medium and could use a few more eyes on them or their work and perhaps one or two published works of mine. Let us begin with:

Jewel has recently taken on the beautiful form that is haiku and she is giving a new life to it that I am happy to witness. You will be happy too.

Tien Skye is taking on six word stories in his publication, Cracked Pieces and invites readers and Writers to participate. I have done so and it is a fun exercise in brevity that I will always love. Please check him out.

John Porter is coming out of his shell and serving us with massive fictional and poetry writing skills. His words are worth your time.

Finally, within this publication, an Audio Poem entitled Hollywood To Go.” In this piece, I try to convey a young man’s dream to make it out of his neighborhood and on to bigger and better things with his lack of talent, but spirited drive.

This is your first Musings & Mutterings A Cornered Gurl informative letter. Any pub related inquiries can be submitted to acorneredgurl(AT)gmail(dot)com. I will respond within one business day. Thank you for your time, mind, and eyes. As always, peace and blessings.

And now, a little Chic with “Good Times”

Good times
These are the good times
Leave your cares behind
These are the good times

Welcome to A Cornered Gurl where writing for me is more than just breath & bones.

--

--

Tre L. Loadholt
A Cornered Gurl

I am more than breath & bones. I am nectar in waiting. “You write like a jagged, beautiful dream.” ©Martha Manning •https://acorneredgurl.com