My Neighbor, Row.

Tre L. Loadholt
A Cornered Gurl
Published in
2 min readJul 29, 2016

I wasn’t going to post this, but from time to time time, I write about my neighbor on Facebook. Folks like it, some love it. They’re really just our conversations in passing. But, the homie, Dom Brady said, “ Should post this on Medium too.” So, here’s Row…

My downstairs (lower level, I’m on the 3rd floor) neighbor, Row has a new job. She works for a law firm now, better hours. It gives her the opportunity to come home and relax, weekends off, holidays too. She was working at one of the local hospitals; grunt work, pennies for pay. She likes the new gig. Loves it because it’s daylight when she comes home. She was sitting in her car, doing what she does in the peace-filled hours when Jernee and I walked by:

"Hey there, Row."

"Ayy, Tre! Girl, what's up?"

"Nothing much. You good?"

"I am. You know me, I'm just out here chilling. About to get outta this car and take it in. What you doing?"

"Going to take this little one for the last walk of the night. Then, call it a day. Nothing special."

"I hear that. Got this new job. No more crazy hours at the hospital. No more holidays, either."

"Get out! Congratulations! You like it?"

"Yep. So far, so good. Finally doing something I actually went to school to do."

In that moment, I realized I'm still not doing what I went to school to do. Not on a grand scale. Not even remotely close to it. But, I was happy for Row.

"That's good news. I bet you're happy about that!"

"Man, Tre... I really am."

She smiled. The air around her danced in admiration. She's going to be just fine.

Image: Nature/My Block

--

--

Tre L. Loadholt
A Cornered Gurl

I am more than breath & bones. I am nectar in waiting. “You write like a jagged, beautiful dream.” ©Martha Manning •https://acorneredgurl.com