No apologies

Elisa Herrera
A Cornered Gurl
Published in
1 min readAug 10, 2020
Photo by Denys Nevozhai on Unspalsh

I make no apologies for the music I hear
for the movies I enjoy
or for the people I love.

I make no apologies for the chances I give
or the opportunities I take.
No apologies for forgiveness and no apologies for trying.

I make no apologies for putting myself first
and for waiting for what I deserve.
No apologies either for speaking my mind and refusing to settle.

No apologies are made for the food I prepare or the dance moves out of rhythm.
For the excitement in my voice when singing my heart out and the tears coming out of my eyes every Christmas.

No apologies for my mismatched socks and my disheveled hair.
For my loud laugh nor for my big heart.

I make no apologies any longer, for being who I am.

--

--

Elisa Herrera
A Cornered Gurl

She/her. Student. Finding myself and understanding the world through writing. English & Spanish. Instagram: mimente_enpapel.