Of Simple Things

Lubna Yusuf
A Cornered Gurl
Published in
1 min readOct 5, 2020

--

Nature Morte à L’estampe Japonaise. Paul Gauguin. 1889.

I sleep to undream
the plot of sorrow
to set it free

Sing me a song of our dreams
a little out of tune
as you laugh in between,
stir me a cup of simple things
The yellow spring in a flower pot
smoke rings into the fog
giant bunnies that float as clouds
bare skin under cold raindrops,
Autumn colours from a mountain top
and a little something to hope for
Tell me a story
that no one knows
softly into my ear
so no one can hear
Just this once hold on to me

Make me a cup of memories
I need no running away from

--

--

Lubna Yusuf
A Cornered Gurl

BOOKS: www.amazon.com/author/lubnayusuf | Author, Lawyer, Filmmaker, Multidisciplinary Artist |Co-author TheAIBook | Instagram @iglubna