One-Lined Poem Chain: Friendship

A Collaborative Effort With Classical Sass

Tre L. Loadholt
A Cornered Gurl
2 min readJan 12, 2018

--

Courtesy of Unsplash

A challenge — to one-line a theme as a form of community building and with words cloaked in venom, stinging to the touch, you answered like it was your calling.

You asked and I replied, but the answer was more than the sum of two parts.

Timers set, brevity brought forth from a mind eager to send others swirling, like clockwork, you appeared.

I got hungry for the extra, the challenge that was natural because you offered it without expectation.

Fast forward to homemade soup, fussy dogs, Jernee taking over your home, and families becoming one.

Solitary lines wrote trust all over our days, and our words became easy paragraphs filling spaces that existed just for us.

Never is there a day where laughter doesn’t search my soul for residence at the sharing of your own.

We learned the people in each other’s lives, the solace and fulfillment in a beautiful meal, the pecking inconsequences of every trifling day, the stretch and fold of care nurtured by time, the tectonic groan of our buried truths,
from one line, asked and answered.

Heej (as we lovingly called/call her in the Mess) and I began interacting courtesy of Medium by way of the one-liner prompts posted weekly way back in 2016 (big up to Chalkboard for continuing with the challenge/prompt!). One year and several months later, I would not trade a single moment of what occurs in our lives as friends. The first one-liner I recall of hers was this: “I’ve ever been a child of this world, til music grabbed my sticky hands and flung my soul to the stars.” Theme: Music. She is a powerhouse all on her own, a words-worker with eloquence and a language that I can spot anywhere. Daily, I am in awe. And if you’re wondering — yes, she’s totally everything she is online and more.

Thank you for reading.

--

--

Tre L. Loadholt
A Cornered Gurl

I am more than breath & bones. I am nectar in waiting. “You write like a jagged, beautiful dream.” ©Martha Manning •https://acorneredgurl.com