Please Spell My Name Right — My Name is Not Ester

I’m getting so tired of it

Esther Spurrill-Jones
A Cornered Gurl
Published in
3 min readJan 20, 2023

--

A pile of blue name tags reading “Hello my name is” on a brown table with 4 black felt pens beside them.
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

My name is Esther.

It’s pronounced “EST-(h)er” with a silent or almost silent H. My name is not Ester. The H needs to be there, whether you say it or not.

My name is also not Hester. I seriously had one person write that when I emphasized the H. Like, how??

I use email a lot at work, and I cannot tell you how many times people look at my email address, esther.jones, and then go ahead and write “Dear Ester” in the body of the email. How??

My parents named me after Queen Esther in the Old Testament, who is famous for saving her people from genocide. A Hebrew girl, her birth name was Hadassah, and she took a Persian name when she became queen of the Medes & Persians.

Esther means “star” and probably comes from Ishtar, “an Akkadian, Assyrian and Babylonian goddess who presided over love, war, and fertility.”

An ester is a chemistry term for “a compound produced by the reaction between an acid and an alcohol with the elimination of a molecule of water, as ethyl acetate, C4H8O2, or dimethyl sulfate, C2H6SO4.” Ok, fine, it’s also a form of Esther in some languages, but it’s not my name.

What’s in a name?

--

--

Esther Spurrill-Jones
A Cornered Gurl

Poet, lover, thinker, human. Poetry editor at Prism & Pen.