Revelations

A poem for the unrighteous

Sydney J. Shipp
A Cornered Gurl
1 min readAug 28, 2020

--

by Julian Hochgesang on Unsplash

Did the Lord call your name
Did you take his hand
’cause like hell you ran,
like hell you ran

Up a better road
than the one I was following
You answered the Rapture’s roll
and I understand

The angels asked you to ascend
to the place I where I am banned
and like hell you ran,
like hell you ran

I am left behind
as your world keeps turning
You turned your hourglass
Mine holds unmoving sand

You’ve found your footing now
upon the ground you stand
Your balance was lost
when you walked my land

I am idle among
the others who just can’t
You’re a man who can
and like hell you ran

--

--

Sydney J. Shipp
A Cornered Gurl

Published poet. Expressing in words, the universal feelings inspired by my experience of life. Instagram: SydneyJShipp, Twitter: @SydneyJShipp