say my name

h.a wadi
A Cornered Gurl
Published in
2 min readDec 16, 2019
Photo by Joanna Nix on Unsplash

say my name

in a way that only lovers do

with a song in your voice

and a prayer in your heart.

callout my name

like a lover who wanders

still tethered to a home,

still disparaged by doors.

write my name

and carry it with you.

carry my roots the way you’ll carry my children

wrapped in security

safeguarded, saved.

dance to me your esoteric dance

sway me in your lines and loops

guide me through your dips and swoops,

your hands in mine,

mine in yours.

say my name

and sing my name.

hold my name on your tongue

and let every rasp find its way to me.

let every inflection call for introspection

of this love and this admiration.

say my name and decide that this calling

is worthy of being written

on the walls of your home

and the valves of your heart,

say it with intention.

say it with the gall of a martyr

and the sagacity of a scholar.

teach it to the kids who outlive me,

to the men who couldn’t hold me,

and to the moon that watched over me.

say my name,

habka kuwa jecel jacal.

say my name,

sidi safraayen isku wacal.

say my name,

as i have entrusted you to speak it.

--

--

h.a wadi
A Cornered Gurl

Through love, there is light. Scientist/Writer/LocalActivist