Soul Music

Using what you have to reach the core of being

Terry Barr
A Cornered Gurl

--

Photo by Matt Artz on Unsplash

I watch as the camera tracks down a lonely dirt road,

in some country, yours, ours?

An old black car sits alone, its trunk open.

On the edge of nowhere a figure creates a sound,

and as nowhere blends to somewhere,

everybody knows this tune.

Amazing Grace.

The sound is not so sweet to uninformed ears,

untrained souls.

My dog hears it or is it the echoes of his brethren and sistren

feeling their spirits rise?

The camera ends its journey as we see her, all dressed in black,

playing that unforgotten hymn

with a bow.

It’s an old saw,

what she plays,

what she hears.

I hear it, too, though I’ve never heard it before.

Its stillness moves me.

And my dog and I,

we float away.

(Inspired by the film, Searching for the Wrong-Eyed Jesus, directed by Andrew Douglas, saw played by Melissa Swingle)

--

--

Terry Barr
A Cornered Gurl

I write about music, culture, equality, and my Alabama past in The Riff, The Memoirist, Prism and Pen, Counter Arts, and am an editor for Plethora of Pop.