Swollen

A Poem

Jonathan Greene
A Cornered Gurl
1 min readMay 25, 2020

--

Photo by Guillaume LORAIN on Unsplash

I feel so swollen
because of all this love
not the kind I let out,
but the kind I keep in
The stuff I keep all for myself
these children, these memories
are what fill me up
and keep me distended

I feel so swollen
because of all this hate
not the kind I let out,
but the kind I keep in
The stuff I keep all for myself
the emotional self-annihilation
is what causes this bloat
and keeps me, well, me

I feel so swollen
because of all these thoughts
not the kind I let out,
but the kind I keep in
The stuff I keep all for myself
the words that never get written
are what fill this brain
and keep me inflated

I feel so swollen
because of all this sadness
not the kind I let out,
but the kind I keep in
The stuff I keep all for myself
that mother, that father
and this gigantic black hole
that continues to swell

© Jonathan Greene 2020

If you liked this, you might like this as well:

--

--

Jonathan Greene
A Cornered Gurl

Father, podcast host, poet, writer, real estate investor/team leader, certified life coach. Curating a meaningful life. IG: trustgreene | trustgreene.com