The Living Word

J.C.
A Cornered Gurl
Published in
1 min readMar 25, 2019
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

I would have despaired had I not believed that I would see the goodness of the LORD In the land of the living.”

‭‭PSALMS‬ ‭27:13‬ ‭

Your living, breathing word Lord,
The only escape
from this looming depression
that hovers over me like
a lion watching his prey.
Exhausted from fighting
the hate I feel for a man
that gave me beautiful sons,
but a strife full life.

A man who Mentally abandoned me
long before he physically disappeared.
Left alone to raise angry boys
who miss a father that was
never fit to fill the role God gave him.
But, your living, breathing word Lord,
reminds me that I am not alone.

As I cry to you at night,
you collect my tears
along with my mustard seed prayers,
and make something beautiful.

Through the wreckage of my heart,
shines a small light you planted,
reminding me that
weeping may endure for a night,
but joy comes in the morning.
Oh Lord, thank you for your
living, breathing word.

--

--