The Love Diaries

A Modern Fairytale — Audio Poem (Read by Tre L. Loadholt)

Ameaka
A Cornered Gurl
2 min readFeb 11, 2019

--

  1. When We Met
    Even though the scene was something tragic,
    It still felt like magic.
    It was like I had been revived,
    like a long-expected moment had arrived.
    When you pulled me out of harm’s way,
    I knew there was nothing more to say.
  2. The First Date
    I kept trying to meet your eyes across the table,
    but I just wasn’t able.
    My heart was racing so fast;
    I prayed this wouldn’t last.
    In the soft glow of the candlelight,
    I wished you would never leave my sight.
    When you reached out to take my hand,
    my doubts slipped through my fingers like sand.
  3. The First Kiss
    It was a quiet moonlit night;
    looking at your face, my chest felt so tight.
    My blood roared through my veins like a swollen river
    and inside, I felt this burning fever.
    In that moment, I knew the meaning of want;
    desire crawled up my belly like an ant.
    As your lips came down to meet mine,
    I felt that everything was fine.
  4. The Fights
    I was so angry, my blood was boiling hot;
    yet I couldn’t even remember why we fought.
    You screamed at me, screamed with such pain,
    I shrank away, thinking we were insane.
    Then the tears came and I was filled with such shame;
    the lion inside stilled, so suddenly tame.
    I ran into your arms and how I cried!
    You couldn’t resist me if you tried.
  5. The Wedding Day
    You told me, “You’re the most beautiful bride”.
    When you looked at me, I could feel you swell with pride.
    As I walked down the aisle, all my uncertainties vanished
    and with determination, my fears were vanquished (banished)
    When we danced, everything else melted away
    as we moved across the floor with each gentle sway.
    That night, as the candles burned low,
    it was just us two, together in the dying glow.
  6. Those Tempting Years
    Even when I moved around with a swollen belly,
    you still told me I looked like delicious jelly.
    And when the baby’s cries filled the night,
    you gave me a gentle squeeze and held us tight.
    Yes, there were quarrels and there were fights,
    there were even some terrible, heart-stopping frights.
    By treacherous tides, we were swept,
    yet by the strength of our love, we were kept.
  7. Now The Years Have Gone By
    How time has flown past
    and here we are together, ever to the last.
    You gently pull my grey hair back into a tie,
    as I revisit these memories, the days all gone by.
    One golden moment still stands out;
    the day you said, “I love you!” with a shout.
    Now, I take your hand in mine;
    as we wait for the end of a day that was so fine.

--

--

Ameaka
A Cornered Gurl

Word Addict/ Smart Mouth/Little Crazy&Maladroit. Poet, Writer, and Pharmacist.