Poetry

The Message

A poem about journeys, interpretations, and meanings

Amanda Laughtland
A Cornered Gurl
Published in
Apr 7, 2023

--

Photo by Arno Senoner on Unsplash

I had you on the phone as I strode
over the skybridge at the airport,
so close to reaching you I couldn’t
stop smiling. I smiled at the men
whose brochures said we’d be going

down the long, bent path to hell.
But not this day. I was only
going down a short escalator
to where you waited by baggage claim.
We hung up when I could see you.

You couldn’t see me until I was almost
within reach. You smiled, too,
and came to hug me more tightly
than I knew people ever hugged
in real life, your whole body

pressing its message of love into me.

--

--

Amanda Laughtland
A Cornered Gurl

Poet, teacher, & zinester. I started The DIY Diaries because I love to read about DIY ideas and projects; I invite you to send us your stories!