The Passing Lane

Grow or lie down and die

Melinda Smith
A Cornered Gurl
2 min readJul 3, 2020

--

Photo by Max Felner on Unsplash

Shall we all die luxurious deaths?
The kind of folly and excess, I mean
Where we eat our desires until they’re gone
And grow fat on two-day shipping
But mostly, mostly
We give up on trying to change
Our muscles atrophy as we chew
Bacon-wrapped acceptance that this is enough
That the temporary
Is permanent

Have we traded Cracker Jack boxes
For supersized monstrosities?
The prizes are still there, if we look
Will we binge-watch the message
That’s meant to take time
Until even our screens
Must ask if we are still there?
Will our minds cease to reach
Past this house of cards?
Or will we break through like Alice
Too big for our cottages?
She obeyed the bottle
But not in the same way as Daddy
Whose flying fists pounded in Morse

Stay in your lane

Alice never stayed
And nor shall I

This lane of mine is tired
And I will not lie down like an aged dog
I will march the streets chasing cars
And yell out for others to join me

Take my hand, won’t you?
Become more with me

We all must expire but I will not die before my body
For a death in a satin-lined casket
Is still a death in name

Find me at ScienceGeekMel.com or on Twitter

--

--

Melinda Smith
A Cornered Gurl

Writer of science, fiction, sci-fi, & poetry | Recovering academic (PhD, Neuroscience) | sciencegeekmel.com | @ScienceGeekMel