How do I swallow

The Rock in My Throat

I need to speak

--

Photo by Annie Spratt via Unsplash

One moment I want to kiss you
yet while our lips
are still moist
steaming in the mist
I want to kill you
Our love
like a rock in my throat
I should not want to swallow
and yet
given ten thousand chances
I refuse to spit it out

Openly
I tell our friends
I want to get it out
but when the lights go down
and there’s no one around
I desperately try to swallow
Just once
I want to wake
finding it’s tomorrow
no longer having to speak
about our past sorrows

Try standing on my head
just to find a way
laying upside down
doing whatever it takes
all in one foolish effort
to keep you around
Our love was
holding on to a dissipating cloud
like that recurring dream
you disappearing in the crowd

Feeling the warmth
on my face
The sun’s up
I’m awake once more
with the fear
that you’ve disappeared
the pain of being alone
but it was all just another
nightmare
Rolling over
I kiss you
letting you know
I’m so very glad you’re
here

@Anthony2023mdh30Vibes

--

--

Anthony Cloe Huie (Choose Living Over Existing)
A Cornered Gurl

Choose Living Over Existing(CLOE)Gender Free Writer(GFW), MartialArts-Auth"The Spirit That Guides Us" "Noir AM""The Lottery" https://twitter.com/dropoutgorgeous