War Wounds of Life

This Badge of Honour

Banded on my chest

--

Photo by Aaron Andrew Ang via Unsplash

This badge of honour
Lays bare a lifetime of failures
Its lines dotted by every droplet of blood
sweat and tears
Its star
Perfectly centered
Is a reminder of you
having long been my island
in the storm

You are not alone
Even when the light
can no longer be seen
and
there is darkness all around
Stand perfectly still
Breathe deeply
Exhale slowly
And feel the presence
that embraces you
and know
You are not alone

Today is the kind of day
that churns beneath the silence
of our whisperings
It is the kind of day
where our once logical mind
dispenses thoughts
as a series of fragmented ramblings
and
once uttered
brings back the reality
you thought you long escaped

Today was not the best of days
but without it
there is no tomorrow
so I’ll steal what I can
and what I can not
I'll borrow
to be my bridge
until tomorrow

@Anthony2023mdh30Vibes

--

--

Anthony Cloe Huie (Choose Living Over Existing)
A Cornered Gurl

Choose Living Over Existing(CLOE)Gender Free Writer(GFW), MartialArts-Auth"The Spirit That Guides Us" "Noir AM""The Lottery" https://twitter.com/dropoutgorgeous