This Pain is real

“Betrayal and Survival” — In verse

Ngang God'swill N.
A Cornered Gurl
2 min readMay 20, 2019

--

It burns; departure,
breaking old bridges,
walking away.
My bonds are priceless
pieces of me,
departure is flesh from bone.
Reciprocity is alien, I guess.

It’s not a misinterpretation,
this propaganda spreading,
lies indeed.
crafted, polished to fit
by they that answer friend,
that seek my help
like friends genuine,
but needles in my heart.

These praises are fake;
flattery is a beautiful mask,
but it’s just that.
That which once brought joy,
now pain, anger, pity.
My life is a total mess,
my labor burns my image
despite the years I offered.

Ugly words I hear
though yonder I stand,
from they who answer friend.
These words stink, stain,
slowly devaluing my person
like time to beauty.
Dirt is my new code,
none can believe, still, they believe.

I’m a genuine soul;
burdened with desire to aid,
a feeling I can’t escape.
My words are true,
to you, you and you,
not them, them, and them.
Words free of ambiguity,
my opinions to help.

I deserve respect at least;
just a little if you will,
not love or trust.
But disrespect is a buddy,
friends always ghosting,
my walk’s empty, lonely.
if this is what I get,
I neither deserve nor want any.

But life’s good and bad,
happiness and sorrow
alternating like day and night.
So I hold on to the good,
smiles, laughs, joy, fun;
my weapons against the dark,
reminders of the rising sun
so I can bear the night.

Betrayal is no easy pill to swallow, but it is also not the end of the line. It’s a chance to reassess, to learn, move on and go on to better relationships. Do not let the mistakes and shortcomings of another person define who you are. You are much better when you see the strength in yourself and the silver lining in those dark clouds.

Dedicated to Feddie.

--

--

Ngang God'swill N.
A Cornered Gurl

Writer, editor, Singer. I believe Art is fruit of a genius mind."