To my mother-in-law, who loves me

A haibun for the prompt Haibun a Heart

Esther Spurrill-Jones
A Cornered Gurl

--

Image by 3333873 from Pixabay

When I look into your eyes I see only love. From the moment you met me, you embraced me as part of your family. Your son’s girlfriend, then wife. Your daughter-in-law. I know you love me. But how deep is that love? If you knew who I really am, would you still embrace me or would you reject me? Would you look at me differently if you knew? You love Jesus with all your heart, and you believe that God condemns anyone who isn’t straight. Although I have never been with anyone but your son, if I told you that I have in me the capacity to fall in love with anyone, regardless of gender, that I have had crushes on women in the past, would you condemn me?

I know you love me
But I still fear that could change
If you knew the truth

--

--

Esther Spurrill-Jones
A Cornered Gurl

Poet, lover, thinker, human. Poetry editor at Prism & Pen.