What I Didn’t Know

Martha Manning, Ph.D.
A Cornered Gurl
Published in
Nov 20, 2020
Photo by Michael Dziedzic on Unsplash

I knew you were gone well before the gun in your hand.
I knew that my skills were no match for the disaster in you.
I knew my boundless love lost its magic by the day.
I knew I had to steel myself for a future without you.

But knowing is bullshit.

Because right now,
In the real,
I am caving in.
I am blind and rudderless in the maelstrom of loss.

I understood so much.
But I didn’t have a clue.
How do I bear my life without you,
In spite of everything I thought I knew?

--

--

Martha Manning, Ph.D.
A Cornered Gurl

Dr. Martha Manning is a writer and clinical psychologist, author of Undercurrents and Chasing Grace. Depression sufferer. Mother. Growing older under protest.