The days before I became

What’s My Name

I’m no longer happy on the floor

--

Photo by Baran Lotfollahi via Unsplash

Take me out of your lane
I am not your experience
I am not your history
I am more than what you see
Here
safely
inside my mask
I can see clearly

I can see your wanting
wanting to touch
when you don’t even remember
my name
Long gone are those days
when I was just one of the many
pieces in your game

Seeing you now
I can take you in measurable amounts
I can chew you up
I can spit you out
I can look you in the eye
and refuse
Long past those days
when your play was to
use
and
abuse

So
take me out of your lane
I am not your experience
I am not your history
I am more than what you see

With that last drink
still upon your lips
you love me
you wanna have me
you just can’t survive the night
without me
And still, you can’t remember
the last name you called me

It’s time for you to go home
There
most likely
last year’s beauty queen
waiting to take off your shoes
waiting to do every little thing
I’ll no longer do
There
most likely
someone waits
blindly in love with you

You can no longer
have the blood of my veins
And the rest of this body
has been spoken for
You’ll most likely die a hunter
but I’m no longer
game!

@Anthony2023mdh30Vibes

--

--

Anthony Cloe Huie (Choose Living Over Existing)
A Cornered Gurl

Choose Living Over Existing(CLOE)Gender Free Writer(GFW), MartialArts-Auth"The Spirit That Guides Us" "Noir AM""The Lottery" https://twitter.com/dropoutgorgeous