Williamstown Beach

31 July 2019

Terri Seddon
A Cornered Gurl
1 min readJul 15, 2020

--

Photo: Terri Seddon

Blue still water.
A whiteness in the blue
Like a smear of ice across the bay,
Silvering stillness.

Sunshine warms my back.
A yellow post in the water
It’s gold reflection wavers gently
Warming the blue.

There are sounds.
A cormorant flaps low across the bay
Wings touching the surface in slow motion
Caressing the water.

There are other sounds.
A rubbish truck grates and clashes
Picking up the bin. Behind me I hear
Cascading rubbish.

The engine roars.
A bin clatters as cans and
Little green bags of dog shit bang and thump,
Beating my ears.

Humans do not caress
Our planet like the birds.
But still there is warm sun
Sparkling in front of me.

And there is the louder sound
Of silence as I watch still water.
The splash of birds in the blue
Rippling with a gentle breeze.

Originally published at https://www.terriseddon.online on July 15, 2020.

--

--

Terri Seddon
A Cornered Gurl

A writer from Melbourne, offering stories about people, places and possible worlds. See: terriseddon.online