Spoken-Word Poem

With This Breath

Spilling poisons

Aspen Blue
A Cornered Gurl

--

Inconvenient my
.
inability to breathe
how could I
.
dare to draw more breath
while you arrest sighs
.
insouciant
asphyxiation split
on the two and the four

waltzing a floor
waxed with the effort
of exacting the oxygen
so deeply adored
.
I implore give me mouth
to mouth to mouth
that I might freely spill
carbon dioxide sufficient
to fill Venus’s fat
.
atmosphere
with a lifetime of choked
down fears
unspilt tears
emotions red in arrears

Can you see me here?

Wasted efforts splitting
inert nitrogen
from swirling volatiles in
your wake

please take these broken
things beaten into circling
rings bonding tight to blood
and bones what we
condone in the bleakness

of our airs

© Aspen Blue 2021

Listen here:

Author reading this piece

--

--

Aspen Blue
A Cornered Gurl

Writer, poet, scientist, educator, humanist, autist; Published in: neuroclastic.com | follow @AspienBlue