You Make It Easy to Stay in Love With You

My friend, my partner

Jack Herlocker
A Cornered Gurl

--

Created by author using DALL-E: “man and woman age 65 in love seen from behind looking out over the railing of a cruise ship as the sun sets, oil painting”

We do not know when
we first said
“I love you”
because
it just felt right
at that moment
that place
that mood

I thought our first date
was going well
but you
you told a stranger
in the ladies’ room
you thought we would get married

You were right
as it turned out

Now we say
“I love you”
every morning
with our lips
as we snuggle
or our hearts
when apart

My friend
my partner
you make it easy
to stay in love with you

--

--

Jack Herlocker
A Cornered Gurl

Husband & retiree. Developer, tech writer, & IT geek. I fill what’s empty, empty what’s full, and scratch where it itches. Occasionally do weird & goofy things.