Your Achilles Heel

A heartwork poem

Niharika
A Cornered Gurl
1 min readDec 2, 2022

--

Photo by Mateus Campos Felipe on Unsplash

dirt-stained roses and fishnet stockings
haunt you when you close your eyes,
i dare you to open them once again
and let me give you another dream

i dare you to dream of novel treasures
the paper and its perfume
i dare you to dream of greek lovers
forbidden and faithful
i dare you to leave behind your fears
and the demons in your head
i dare you to come and meet mine instead

desires climbing up your throat
of taste and touch and things unknown
would you be kind enough to oblige
and let me take you all in?

let me show all the colors
the multiple shades i can bring to you
let me tell you the names of
all the places we can go
let me tell you the lies I've said
and all the places i regret calling home
let me get to know you
from the mole on your neck
to the crack of your laugh
let me stay and crave
the taste of your nicotine breath

--

--

Niharika
A Cornered Gurl

maybe we're just two souls stranded in a universe where we don't belong, here is where our worlds meet