Faith, Addiction, and A Daily Course in Miracles

Faithlessness: Why We NEED a Miracle Now!

How this publication came to be.

Andrew C. Troi
A Daily Course in Miracles
7 min readJul 21, 2021

--

Lily is the avatar for A Daily Course in Miracles because she was and will always be the sweetest of miracles. Photo Credit: AC Troi

The Course in Miracles declares in the 12 line introduction that:

It is a required course. Only the time you take is voluntary.
(T-in.1:1–2)

So I suppose it is necessary to answer the following:

Why now?

Let’s be honest, we are in an American crisis. No, I’m not referring to the economy, or COVID-19, or voting rights.

We are in a crisis of faithlessness.

I have a talent for creating logical arguments but I really hope this one is clear. I could say something Biblical like “Man is justified by faith alone” or discuss the scientific reasons people are happier when they have faith in something. Doesn’t have to be a traditional “God” or religious thing. Faith in your fellow man, or faith in love, or faith in your community is sufficient. It just needs to be something greater than yourself.

But we are in a crisis of faithlessness and I know that from my own personal tragicomedy. My story would be tragic if it weren’t so fucking funny. Or, it would be hilarious if it weren’t so fucking tragic?

--

--

Andrew C. Troi
A Daily Course in Miracles

Funny, fine-ass queer writer having the time of his life! Remember, love is all you need. Oh, and money. And penicillin sometimes. But mostly LOVE!