Wearing only my favorite clothes

Armando Duran
A Daily Thought
3 min readJan 16, 2015

--

I never thought about the idea of just wearing my favorite clothes until I experienced with being a minimalist. And I love it so much that I am not going back and I don’t hesitate to get rid of something I don’t like!

I know that during my school years I wore a uniform all the way to high school and that always helped by not to try to figure out what to wear specially in those years when you kind of care about what others say.

This whole idea of getting rid of most of my clothes was not as crazy for me as I thought. I have experienced during the years that getting rid of stuff I don’t use always made me feel lighter.

When I began to read Everything That Remains from The Minimalists, I soon was so attracted to the idea of the experiment suggested there. This was to get rid of one thing the first day, then 2 the second, 3 the third and so forth.

I did this for a number of days and I can’t say I continued all the way until the suggested time which I think it was 21 days. But, I noticed something that shocked me as I went thorough that process:

Over the years I developed some sort of attachment to
certain clothes that back then were my favorite!

One example of this was a tie that was my favorite for so many years and when I noticed it was just there hanging in the closet without having used for at least 3 years. I took it and as I was getting ready to put it on the box that was to be taken away, I said to myself:

“No, this can’t go, this is THE tie! … I can’t get rid of this!”

And so, my interesting process of practicing non attachment as I became more minimalist started to enfold in such way that to my surprise, it made me feel way better and lighter.

I have contemplated the idea of wearing the exact same clothes over a period of time or just like Steve Jobs, but for now I can say that I am pretty happy just wearing my favorite clothes and of course getting rid of the ones that I don’t like in the minute I notice that.

Armando’s Minimalist Table

As I am writing this, I realize that in reality, I have applied more of a minimalist life than I thought. I remember when I first read the one essay by Joshua titled Tour My Minimalist Appartment, and feeling so inspired about it. I can say that the table from which I am writing this, IS minimalist!

There are two things that I completely agree Joshua as he says in his Favorite Clothes of a Minimalist essay, that also inspired me a lot to get rid of most of the clothes that I was not using and/or that I didn’t like wearing anymore:

  1. I love all the clothes I kept, so I get to wear what I love every day.
  2. I enjoy my clothes, but I am not my wardrobe.

If somehow you do feel inspired to either become a minimalist, to wear the same clothes everyday or to get rid of the ones that you don’t like, here is a video that I am sure will help:

--

--