Friends see the same trees

Froggle
A Darker Shade of Green
2 min readAug 5, 2013

--

My best friend went to Versailles and toured the beautiful, wonderful, extravagant, historic palace that I have dreamed about all my life. Like any good friend, she sent me a picture of her day trip. It wasn’t a picture of the grand facade, the famous gardens, or even an ornate door. It was a picture of the trees that lined the entrance.

Those trees (see above) mean more to me than any glittering hall of mirrors because those trees represent our bond as friends.

The first vacation we ever took together was to Hawaii. The trip was wonderful, the sites amazing, and we both managed to compile those obnoxious 50+ image Facebook albums. The best picture that we took that trip was one of a tree:

The incredible work of nature that we dubbed “The Tree of Life-the real one”

This tree is the product of a perfect collaboration. She did the spotting, I did the snapping, and we both took part in obsessing over the image for the days that followed.

We are two school grades apart, we now live in two different states, and we talk once a week if we’re lucky, but if you say “Hawaii,” we both think of this tree. That, for me, is our friendship in one brainwave…literally. We don’t see each other as often as I would like to, but it’s guaranteed that we are always together on one brainwave or another, and that will never change.

Moments like the one in which I received the text message containing these Versailles trees remind me that I’m never alone. My best friend is an ocean away, and we still see the same trees.

--

--

Froggle
A Darker Shade of Green

I write children's stories for the young and the old, because love is shared when a story is told. This is the official Twitter page for GreenFrogTales!