8 Songs For A Desert Island

Jumping on the cool kids bandwagon

Ravyne Hawke
A Delicious Torment

--

Photo by jcob nasyr on Unsplash

I don’t usually do trends, but the If I Could Take Only 8 Songs With Me to a Desert Island… trend is fun and I think it tells a lot about a person by the songs they choose. Apparently this is a ‘cool kids’ trend, so although I’ve never been a ‘cool kid’ (whatever that means), I am jumping on their bandwagon anyway.

I admit, it isn’t easy to choose just eight songs. I had to consider what songs I’ve always loved and would never grow tired of listening to. I started with a list of around 25 and whittled it down to just eight. So let’s take a look at my choices, shall we?

Sailing by Christopher Cross

The first time I heard this song is vividly immersed in my memory. It was my birthday in June of 1980. I’d gotten a new stereo system for my birthday (I paid half and my parents paid the other half) that also had a radio and a cassette player. Excitedly, I tuned into a local radio station and moments later, this song came on. Since I love all things beach and ocean, this song enthralls me…

--

--

Ravyne Hawke
A Delicious Torment

Writing Coach, Poet, Fiction Writer, Essayist, Artist, Dreamer | “Enlightenment is when a wave realizes it is the Ocean” ~Thich Nhat Hanh