Time To Hang Up My Hat?

Down for the count again

Ravyne Hawke
A Delicious Torment
2 min readJun 8, 2023

--

Photo by Khôi Châu

Earlier this evening, I took another tumble. On my way to the kitchen, Shugs slithered between my legs and tripped me. Once again, I landed on my left side.

Thankfully, my walker was close by, so I was able to get off the floor and make it back to my room. I had to call the ambulance and make my way to the hospital alone because Matt took a strong sleeping med and I couldn’t wake him up.

Right now, I am in the ER waiting for a scan and trying to post this via my cell phone. I was in a lot of pain when I first got here, but I am on pain meds now.

So yeah, I feel like I should just hang up my hat and give up. How much is one person supposed to take before she cracks?

Hopefully, I didn’t break anything. I don’t think my hip popped out of the joint again… I couldn’t have walked, right? Guess I will know once I’ve had that scan.

ADEOLA SHEEHY-ADEKALE, please let the other editors know I’m down for the count again. I don’t know when I will be home. Hopefully tomorrow evening.

For now, I have my cell if anyone needs me. Sadly I cannot work on publishing on my cell phone… or at least I haven’t figured out how.

And now, I am going to drown my sorrows in a Sprite Zero and try to decide if it is worth it to keep fighting.

Yeah, I hear you, Universe… I did say I needed a vacation, but why do they always come via an illness or fall?

*sighs*

~~Lori Carlson

--

--

Ravyne Hawke
A Delicious Torment

Writing Coach, Poet, Fiction Writer, Essayist, Artist, Dreamer | “Enlightenment is when a wave realizes it is the Ocean” ~Thich Nhat Hanh