A lot of Learning, Some Designing

Jade Carma
A Designed World by Jade Carma
4 min readAug 4, 2018

Passion is energy. Feel the power that comes from focusing on what excites you.

— Oprah Winfrey

All my good work comes from my passions, creating something based off of things I enjoy to learn about or have been in love with. I decided to take two topics that I liked, and turned them into interactive publications that would be worth looking at for my digital publication class. We were asked to do this, using Mag+ for the iPad. Let me first say, this was a challenge, and I’m also going to be honest and say, the end product still needed some work.

I don’t think I’m the only person who has struggles using Mag+, it was difficult to understand the many quirks and learn how things functioned together. However, once you finally get it to do what you want, it’s better than lemonade on a hot summer day.

Whine & Dime

My first publication

I first chose to do a magazine on wine with a budget. Now being in Utah, this is more for people who can shop at the grocery store and buy wine. However, it was still one of the best ideas I’ve ever had. I learned more about my wines, and the best junk food to pair it with. Yum!

My main objective for this publication was simplicity, with more images than wording, for those who enjoy picture books by nature (which are most us). However, here is the main problem, I was very gung-ho in the beginning that I believe I completely missed the mark. I know, I am not setting this up to sound good. Except, I can’t lie.

I focused a lot on the interactive elements of my navigation that as soon as I got to the rest of my publications I was completely burnt out. The rest of the magazine was less impressive than the beginning was. Although, I did end up with more images and less wording.

Article Sample and Interactive Ad

Cycle — All About Bikes

Always improving, slightly succeeding

My second magazine I decided to create was about bicycles. I have always loved bikes, but there are so many different kinds and different uses. My main objectives were to make sure this publication included more interactive features than last, and to include more color or creative elements.

I tried to put focus on all parts equally. This time it was easier because I knew what I was doing a little better. I knew my different layers and where things should go. AND GROUP!!! In the end, my efforts were good, much better than the first magazine I created. Reasons being, I put more design thought into it. Each article was interactive and had a theme, like a 80’s diner, a city, mountains, etc.

There can always be improvement. Always! No matter how good you think your project is in the moment, later you wish you had done something differently. There could have been a more universal theme other than the whole publication being about bicycles. Nevertheless, it was an improvement.

No one will ever like Mag+. If you do, please teach me the ways so that I too will love it, or slightly prefer it. For now, don’t expect me to whip the program out and do a whole project with this as my platform. Anyways, thanks for the challenge.

Jade Longhurst is a student in the Digital Media program at Utah Valley University, Orem Utah, studying Interaction & Design. The following article relates to DGM 2270 course and representative of the skills learned.

--

--