It’s *THAT* Time of Year

Lauren Busser, M.S.
A Designer’s Notebook
7 min readDec 6, 2021

--

As my time working on final deliverables increases, the less work I seem to actually be getting done.

A shot of my Spring Cleaning Shawl folded up on a table.

Normally on these blog posts, I tell you about something I read or insight I found while knitting. The fact is that at this point I am spending more time trying to synthesize that stuff for my final deliverables than I am here.

So while I push through these final weeks and write the first two chapters of my dissertation here is what I actually did this week:

  • Finished developing my survey
  • Worked my way through the IRB training courses
  • I finished knitting two baby hats as a gift
  • Finished a hat
  • Emailed the place I bought my spinning wheel from
  • Came up with a contingency plan in case the wheel doesn’t show up until February.
  • Blocked and finished a shawl (another Christmas gift)

And in all of that, I did manage to come up with some more insights about myself and my knitting practice.

There’s something about knitting baby hats that makes me very uninspired.

--

--

Lauren Busser, M.S.
A Designer’s Notebook

TV. Books. Navigating burnout. Holds an M.S. from NYU in Integrated Digital Media.