Made a Survey and Did Some Spinning

Lauren Busser, M.S.
A Designer’s Notebook
5 min readNov 29, 2021

--

I moved into primary research while continuing to practice. Plus, some thoughts on yarn math.

Photo by Surene Palvie from Pexels

After our group meeting with Elizabeth last week I decided to start thinking about research questions. I had thought about doing interviews with knitters and pattern designers since September but I hadn’t really made a move to create a question set. I made a base set to go over this week and continued my practice.

I tried to spin some of my wool samples on a drop spindle, and it’s very hard to stay coordinated.

A big step was trying to embed the thread in one of my wool samples. I quickly realized that I was going to need more conductive thread for a larger sample to create a continuous line of electricity, but I press on with a 30ft spool I had from Adafruit and made a small sample of yarn that only measures about 5 yards.

This is enough to try to embed next to non-conductive yarn and see if it will turn on a light, but it illuminated some problems I suspected I would have with the equipment I used.

Small sample of yarn with a conductive core with some close ups.

--

--

Lauren Busser, M.S.
A Designer’s Notebook

TV. Books. Navigating burnout. Holds an M.S. from NYU in Integrated Digital Media.