Midterm: This Is Where I’m At and Where I Think I Am Going

Lauren Busser, M.S.
A Designer’s Notebook
3 min readOct 25, 2021

I made another presentation and kept digging into craft culture.

Photo by Nynne Schrøder on Unsplash

This week I took a slight break from reading to focus on the presentation. While I continued to make my way through Making is Connecting, I realized I needed to spend more time than I thought formulating my slide deck and distilling my thoughts.

First, the process of distilling my thoughts.

To try to get my thoughts together I made a mind map for this project that had my three main topics with a bunch of subtopics that came up in my reading over the past few weeks.

This is the mess map that was created as a result.

Then came the herculean task of distilling these connections into a 5-minute presentation that had to be recorded.

I will admit that I do not like listening to or hearing recordings of myself so this was an interesting experience.

I am however trying to distill some bigger ideas in this presentation that I don’t think are coming across well. I wanted to go into some of the shared verbiage and parallels I’d observed but I didn’t want the presentation to run too long or have too many tangents.

The threads are still percolating and I am sure they’ll come together after I get back to reading as I have been in the next week.

And then I found a book I didn’t know existed.

I have done a little more poking around in trying to distill my topic a little bit further for a research statement and in doing so I found a book that sounds perfect for the intersections I found on my mess map.

Techgnosis by Erik Davis came up on a list of occult scholars, and given my interest in technopaganism, I think this will fit well into some ideas I have surrounding mysticism and computers.

And a look at my personal knitting practice this week.

I took out an old project and started working on that to decompress. This project is a sock yarn blanket made of scraps and mitered squares. I started this project back when I was an undergrad and have two in the works: one for myself and one for my parents.

Over about a year I accumulated a lot of sock yarn minis (5 gram balls of fingering weight sock yarn) that should allow me to finish both. I want to finish this one in particular by May because it’s meant to be for my parents and I kind of don’t want to move with it.

If I keep going the way I am moving now, I will hopefully have this done this January.

--

--

Lauren Busser, M.S.
A Designer’s Notebook

TV. Books. Navigating burnout. Holds an M.S. from NYU in Integrated Digital Media.