My adventure to be vegan…

Selinyilmaz
A diary of future lives
3 min readOct 12, 2019
Vegetarian Ice-cream

8th October

I’m on the fourth day of my struggle to be vegan. I’ve decided to go a little deeper into this. I started researching the benefits of the vegan lifestyle. I have learned that around one-third of the world’s greenhouse gas emissions caused by human activities are caused by food production. Most of this was based on animal production. I was surprised when I read that the greenhouse gas, which is caused by the meat consumed by an average family of four, is more than the gas produced by two cars. Leeds University food safety expert, Tim Benton “people do not take into account the impact of climate change on food,” he says. “But if it eats a little less meat today, it could be much better for our children and grandchildren.”

Marco Springmann, a researcher at Oxford University, prepared a computer model to predict how the world will improve. In 2050, if everyone was a vegetarian, food-related greenhouse gas emissions would be reduced by 60 percent. If everyone is vegan, this reduction can go up to 70.

Food production, especially animal husbandry, is an important source of greenhouse gas emissions as well as the conversion of land to grassland and biodiversity reduction. 68 percent of the agricultural land in the world is used for animal fattening. If everyone is a vegetarian, 80 percent of these pastures can be re-transformed into meadows and forests to slow climate change through carbon absorption.

I’ve had a lot of information about this and that. Even though it was the fourth day of my being vegan, after reading this information I felt apse psychologically purified and relaxed. Because the idea of not being part of these bad results made me feel good.

In the day I ate vegan ice cream for the first time except eating peaches, herbal tea and mixed vegetable salad. This was very good because I usually like to eat dessert.

9th October

I noticed something about myself today. I am now curious about the content of each product. I used to never pay attention to that. I’d like it to become a habit. Because it’s interesting that I haven’t read and wondered what I’ve ever eaten.

I also think that alternative vegan foods are not very different from the normals. I like vegan pasta. It was quite tasty and satisfying.

10th October

I have already mentioned my opinion about the variety of alternative vegan foods. In addition, it is necessary to spend long shifts to find these products in the markets. Because it is a waste of time to find these few vegan foods from the shelves.

In this experience, I think it is more appropriate to talk about my experiences of being vegan instead of talking about the vegan food I eat every day. Because I constantly learn and experience new things. For example, I love to consume eggs in my normal life. And in many of the dishes I prepare, I use eggs to maintain the consistency of the food. I didn’t use eggs anymore, so I looked for an alternative food. I have learned that I can achieve the consistency I want by using chia seeds instead of eggs.

11th October

Although I want to learn and apply vegan recipes, I eat more practical and ready to eat vegan foods on weekdays. Maybe you can find the opportunity to prepare these recipes over the weekend. In the meantime, vegan products are a bit expensive to be annoying.

12th October

Eighth day of being vegan. I think I’m starting to adapt. I also feel a lightness in my body. Today, I made a Turkish dish whose main ingredient was zucchini. Its name is “Mücver”. It was quite tasty. I used ciya seeds instead of eggs for consistency.

I’m pretty excited for the next week. Because I feel that my awareness is increasing day by day…

--

--