A week with no paper, could I do it?

Nardin Shafik
A diary of future lives
2 min readOct 14, 2019

I began at first to think that it is easy to live with not using any paper, but as days passed by i realized that it’s really hard to do so. You’ll find some of the challenges i faced as you keep reading.

☞ MOVING INTO A NEW APARTMENT

I was doing fine till i moved out from my old apartment into the new one. I was forced with having the contract as papers and not digitalized as a first. Then the Gas company came to fix the gas in my apartment, when he was done he came and gave me the manual of using the machine, on paper!

☞ BILLS & FOOD

As my house is semi plastic-free i tend to use paper bags for fruit and vegetables and if they need coverage because of water i use tissues to do so.
To reduce the usage of tissues i replaced them with towels that i just wash and re-use again, and to reduce the paper bags i used cloth bags.
Because of the lack of communication, I don’t speak Italian and most of the cashiers don’t speak english, before i even say or try to say that i don’t want the bill, they issue it to me. Now i have tons of bills in my place that I’m looking forward to recycle for anything (maybe make a book of thermal paper that i can use for sketching).

☞ UNIVERSITY

Third day of challenge, and I was still excited. I had a UX Design class, while I was in class ready to write notes on my laptop, the proffesor told us to shut all the digital devices we had, and take out a sheet of paper and a pen. I couldn’t tell him I can’t because of a challenge so I had to do it (he wanted us to sketch), I didn’t have any paper with me so I asked a friend to give me one and unfortunately I had to take it back home with me.

I hope the next week I will have less obstacles throughout my challenge.
I’ll keep updating you!!😊

--

--