Angela Stellaccio
A diary of future lives
2 min readOct 18, 2019

--

Here we are. End of the challenge. I can say that I am proud of myself and happy of this experience. I did not think that I could be able to grow plants in my new house, I never did it during these years in Milan. This challenge made me understand that we can find a simple way to include nature in our daily life and in our environment. Since I live in a campus, I thought that if everyone here took the same challenge as I did, today there would be 110 jars with a lot of small plants in this building. Maybe I could talk about this to the campus manager: 110 plants can start a small garden! That could be an activity for students. However, during these weeks I am working on a project about storing/preserving in 2035’s houses and with my group we discussed about nature among the themes. Now that I live near Lambrate at the sixth floor, one of the things that I really appreciate about this place is that I can see a lot of plants on balconies around here. And, if I think about it, I can say that this is one of the reasons why I like this place very much. Having nature in houses can really change the perception of a place and your mood. It makes you feel more relaxed and “healthy”. I am sure that, without all those green spots, I would perceive this place in a very different way. So I hope that my two upcoming years in this neighborhood can make a difference in this place and can leave something positive even if I will move again. The challenge experience changed the way I perceive my space and made me more confident about the “little everyday responsabilities” that I can take on my shoulders. Now I am aware that I could grow plants without upsetting my routine or the one of my roommates, and that I will feel better with myself, knowing that I made a good action.

--

--