Grow some vegetable for 2 weeks.

Hiroki Morimoto
A diary of future lives
2 min readOct 7, 2019

06/10/2019

For the 2 weeks challenge from innovation studio in Politecnico di Milano I decided to choose to grow some vegetables. At first I was planning to choose “living with a limited allowance of daily water” which is only up to 60 litters per day, even though 60 L/day is an instant example I will probably use 120 L/day. Because flushing a toilet just once is about 6.6 L, and the toilet in my apartment is not equipped with singular flushing method so i have to turn on a tap to flush also that uses more water than singular ones. Not only toilet but also showering. Water usage of 8 minutes shower is already 60 L, and it would take at least 3 minutes to warm up the water. For those reasons I decided not to choose a challenge which I will never be able to go through, thus I chose to grow some vegetables because it is not something impossibly hard but it still has a lot of potential to be a great resource to learn from.

Day 01. Getting ready to grow vegetables. I was not expecting to be this hard to just get some seeds of vegetable because back in my own country which is Japan, you can easily find a kitchen gardening kit. However I tried 3 Esselunga (which should be a large scaled supermarket) and only found flower seeds. In the end after spending the whole day finding seeds I finally found some and bought “Prezzemolo” and “Salvia” because they were the only “vegetables” which can be harvested in winter.

Day 02. Morning I planted 5 seeds per pod and poured a small amount of water. I didn’t have a watering pot but I made it from used plastic battle instead of buying one.

From left, prezzemolo, prezzemolo, and salva in the last.
Watering which I made from plastic battle

--

--