Hand washing for 14 days

刘霄永
A diary of future lives
3 min readOct 8, 2019

This challenge I decided was hand washing two weeks. So, I will describe this diary from 5 sides, which were the current situation, preparation, amount of water and time, the problems and other things.

Hand washing

The first side is the current laundry situation, most of people will choose to use the washing machine to get clothes cleaned if they have one at home. Only in some rare cases will hand wash some underwear. But I think there are some problems about the washing machine. For example, it has very long washing time. Sometimes my flat mate and I will have dinner very late. After dinner we want to get some clothe washed, but the washing machine needs to go on for at least 3 hours or more (of course, it may be my setting problem). So, I will fall asleep while waiting for the washing machine to finish, and I always forget the clothes in the washing machine until I want to wash my clothes the next day. Electricity consumption may be another problem. The electricity bill is very expensive for me. If I wash it for a long time, it will use a lot of electricity, and the amount of water will be high, it will waste a lot of resources, Moreover, I don’t know the electricity and Water consumption of washing machines. The washing machine also needs to be cleaned regularly to ensure that it won’t make clothes dirtier.

Washing Capsules

I like to use this kind of washing Capsules now, it’s very easy to use. Every time I just need to put one washing capsule into washing machine. And it’s very convenient to make clothes have less water. I just need to dry the clothes on the clothes rail, it will be dry very quickly.

I like to use hand washing to wash underwear, because it’s very easy to wash by hand, save time and water, and cleaner.

I have one piece of underwear and two pieces of clothes need to wash.

I didn’t buy many things for the hand washing. So, I just buy the laundry soap and soap box, and I have another soap only for the underwear.

1.5L*2+2L

Furthermore, I prepare some plastic bottles to calculate the consumption of water. And I want to calculate the washing time too.

I don’t have the Water plug. So, I just can wash the clothes like this.

Water consumption: 11 L

Time: 13mins 34s

Feeling: My skin is very uncomfortable, because of the cold water. And it’s very hard to make clothes dry. But I use less time on wash clothes than washing machine.

In fact, there are still some things I want to buy to increase my experience of washing clothes , such as the washboard, the laundry tub and the small bench. Maybe with the basin, it will save more water.

--

--