It is getting harder

Agustina Toderi
A diary of future lives
2 min readOct 16, 2019

Till Friday noon I was having no problem with my Vegan diet. I was looking for alternatives for my regular meals, and trying to discover new flavors and ways of cooking.

But when Friday night came, I realized how vegan people are left aside in many of the restaurant menus. I left the University around 6 at get to my place around 7, I was meeting with some friends to have some drinks, and we were trying to meet around 9. I was 40 minutes away for the place I was supposed to meet them, so I needed to rush. Once at home, I took a quick bath and run to the metro station, so I wasn’t able to eat anything.

At the place, we asked for a bottle of wine, and I knew I needed to eat something (I was starving) at the bar, for vegan people, they just had olives. I asked for that. Of course that couldn’t be my dinner (specially with the wine) so I found out there was no other vegan option for me to take. I tried to look around, but there was any other place to go. So I took a vegetarian option.

As it is a challenge that I decided to take, and not a moral conduct, I took this experience in order to realized that if you want to take the vegan path, you really need to be committed, prepared and organize. Regular places are not prepared to have this kind of menus regularly, and it is limited to “vegan/vegetarian” places. Also, they are more expensive, at least that is what I found out during my vegan week.

I had this problem during the entire weekend, I realized I wasn’t fully prepared to eat properly and stick to the vegan diet. This was another big problem for me, I noticed I wasn’t eating properly because I didn’t have enough time to go to stores and see the vegan offer, or to cook to myself, or to buy everything that I needed to cook, I didn’t had enough time to look into recipes and to read about how to replace ingredients or how to be sure I was eating all the nutrients.

I’m trying to be as vegan as possible, but it is getting harder.

--

--