Living with no single use plastic-first week

Omar Dal Pos
A diary of future lives
2 min readOct 19, 2019

FIRST WEEK

I’ve been facing this challenge for a week. Until now there have been no major problems. I had to change a bit my diet because some products are packed almost exclusively with plastic wrappers and I also make different choices in everyday life.

When I shopped at the supermarket, I bought only fruit and vegetables that I can pack with biodegradable bags. I used to take Pachino tomatoes, which are already packed in plastic containers, but now I replace this product with another type of non-prepacked tomato. Usually I also bought the salad in a bag, so I decided to replace it with other “plastic free” vegetables.

I found a big problem with meat because almost all the packs are in plastic. I therefore decided to drastically limit consumption and take meat only when I don’t eat at home.

For plastic water bottles there is no problem because I use an aluminium bottle. The method I usually use when I’m at the university. It’s also better for my finances, because it’s not necessary to buy water in the supermarket, I fill from the tap.

I don’t want to waste time preparing food at home for the next day lunch at the university. I buy some food in Bovisa refreshments. I decided to take food only in places where they provide recyclable packaging or places that use ceramic plates that are therefore reusable.

--

--