PLANTING VEGETABLES IN 14 DAYS | Day 11–13

Xingyu Quan
A diary of future lives
3 min readOct 18, 2019

15/10/2019

I found my garlic is start leaning because of it’s roots. So I made a new container with used plastic bottle again and put garlic into it.

Actually I was surprised by the fast growing garlic, it seemed even faster than mung bean sprouts. I think if I started growing garlic in water at the beginning of the challenge, maybe I can already tasted garlic sprouts these days.

Mung bean sprouts

16/10/2019

2 days left, bean sprouts were not satisfied with their small container. So I cooked some sprouts again with a patato. The combination was a bit strange but the taste was exceedingly delicious.

left bean sprouts

17/10/2019

I’ll eat them in these days

Until today, mung bean sprouts, garlic and salads are keeping on growing. The planting challenge process was very fulfilling, since I’m making food sourcing all by myself. The effort is centered not only in watering, it also keeping on thinking and caring of them. Thankfully the planting process was quite fluent, although some accidents happend through it, like new sprouts growing from bean sprouts, small tails extending from grabbing humidity around…In addition, I feel lucky to pick planting vegetables challenge, as it seems the only one that can be interactive between challenger and objects. Appreciating vegetables’ effort as well, I was quite afraid of the result, but fortunately they are all still alive. Later, I’ll try to grow soybeans as well, since they can be cooked in many different dishes, more flexible than mung bean sprouts. Anyway, I think I’ll keep going with this issue.

Finally they sprouted in soil...

--

--